Links
NC Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 
Division of Medical Assistance (DMA)
Division of Aging and Adult Services (DOA)
Division of Child Development (DCD)
NC Child Support
NC Child Bureau
Prevent Child Abuse
Internet Crimes Against Children
NC Action for Children
NC Child Care Health & Safety Resource Center
NC Smart Start
NC Child Care Search
NC Divison of Services for the Blind
NC Division of Services for Deaf and Hard of Hearing
NC Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services
NC Division of Public Health
NC Vital Records Unit
Medicaid Consumers Link
Employment Security Commission
NC Department of Labor

Warren County Department of Social Services

Department of Social Services
307 N. Main Street
Warrenton, NC 27589
Phone: (252) 257 5000
Fax: (252) 257 5610
Hours: 8:30AM to 5:00PM Monday - Friday

The Warren County Department of Social Services manages:

 

The Warren County Department of Social Services provides a wide variety of social work and economic services:

Social Work Services:

Child and Family Social Work services include:

  • Protective Services (abuse and neglect)
  • Family Preservation and Support Services 
  • Foster Care Placement
  • Adolescent Parenting Program
  • Adoption Services
  • Recruitment and licensing of Foster Homes

Adult Social Work services include:

  • Protective Services (abuse and neglect)
  • Guardianship Services
  • Adult Foster Care Services
  • Counseling and Arranging for Services for Disabled Adults
  • Adults Day Care
  • Services for the Blind
  • In-Home Aide Services
  • Adult Care Home Recruitment and Evaluation

Economic Services Programs:

Warren County DSS provides services that help low income families get and maintain work, support employment, promote quality health care coverage, food assistance, energy assistance and other economic supports for families.

These services include:

Key Staff Contacts

 

Director:
Director: Michele D. Winstead/ (252) 257-5000 / mwinstead@co.warren.nc.us

Administrative Officer II:
Mary Ann Roberson / (252) 257-5020  / mroberson@co.warren.nc.us

Computer Systems Administrator I:
Sallie W. Smiley / (252) 257-5000 ext. 5031/ ssmiley@co.warren.nc.us

Child Protective Services Supervisor:
Dianna Talley / (252) 257-5007 / dtalley@co.warren.nc.us

Foster Care Supervisor:
Wynona Thomas / (252) 257-5850 / wthomas@co.warren.nc.us

Adoption Services Supervisor:
Wynona Thomas / (252) 257-5850 / wthomas@co.warren.nc.us

Adult Services Manager:
VACANT / (252) 257-5024

Adult Protective Services Supervisor:
VACANT / (252) 257-5024

Adult Care Home Specialist: 
Renae Alston / (252) 257-5974 / ralston@co.warren.nc.us

Health Choice for Children Supervisor:
Alice Abbott / (252) 257-5000 ext. 5029 / aabbott@co.warren.nc.us

Adult Medicaid Supervisor:
Francine Allen / (252) 257-5000 ext. 5030 / fallen@co.warren.nc.us

Family and Child Medicaid Supervisor:
Alice Abbott / (252) 257-5000 ext. 5029 / aabbott@co.warren.nc.us

Food and Nutrition Services Supervisor:
Lora Edwards / (252) 257-5000 ext. 5028 / ledwards@co.warren.nc.us

Work First Employment Program Supervisor:
Alice Abbott / (252) 257-5000 ext. 5029 / aabbott@co.warren.nc.us

Child Day Care Subsidy Program Coordinator:
Sharon Burchette / (252) 257-5010 / sburchette@co.warren.nc.us

Child Support:
Kristie Mayfield / 252-257-1165 / kmayfield@co.warren.nc.us

Transportation Supervisor
Sherenia Branche/ (252) 257-5021 / sbranche@co.warren.sc.us

Medical Transportation Coordinators:
Melanie Jones / (252) 257-5014 / mjones@co.warren.nc.us
Malana Vick/ (252) 257-5011 / mvick@co.warren.nc.us

DSS Board Members:
Charlene Brown, Chairman; Marine King, Vice Chairman; Michael Richardson; Constance Davis; Bertadean Baker

Board of Commissioners: 
Bertadean Baker, Chairman; Jennifer Jordan, Vice Chairman; Barry Richardson; Ulysses S. Ross; Ruby Downey;

NC Legislative Delegation:
House: Micheal Wray; Senate: Doug Berger

 

Research & Online Information

 

Jordan Institute for Families Faculty and staff associated with the Jordan Institute are engaged in a variety of research, evaluation, and technical assistance projects involving issues affecting families and the communities in which they live. The Jordan Institute aims to develop more innovative solutions to the challenges facing families and communities, explore and share practices that strengthen families, and encouraged informed debate about diverse approaches for strengthening families and communities.

Management Assistance for the Work First Program Management assistance for the Work First Program is a result of the partnership between the Jordan Institute for Families at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the Department of Health and Human Services. This site contains work related to the collection, analysis, and interpretation of Work First county-specific Work First data. For each county, demographics, caseload characteristics, caseload dynamics, and data on two parent caseloads and child only caseloads are presented.

Center for Budget and Policy Priorities The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is a nonpartisan research organization and policy institute that conducts research and analysis on a range of government policies and programs, with an emphasis on those affecting low- and moderate-income people.

NC Cooperative Extension A report on a North Carolina study of welfare recipients and fact sheets useful to individuals transitioning from welfare to work.

Welfare Information Network A clearinghouse of national information, policy analysis and technical assistance on welfare reform. Specifically covers 75-80 subject areas including agency information, childcare, job readiness, rural issues and management information systems. Numerous links to other welfare web sites.

Welfare Reform Research & Education Network A general web site that links to many other education web sites in the United States and North Carolina. Good for finding welfare reform research.